Welcome to Siyabhabha Trust

Established in 2004, through the merger of the Siyabhabha National Trust and the Development Welfare Agency of the South African Catholic Bishops Conference (SACBC), Siyabhabha Trust is a non-profit development agency of the SACBC operating in South Africa, Botswana and Swaziland. It is governed by a Board of Trustees and each of the 29 dioceses that constitute the SACBC is recognised as a member of Siyabhabha Trust. Siyabhabha programmes are conceived on the basis of discussions and resolutions of the Diocesan Consultation. The partners are effectively authors and owners of Siyabhabha programmes.

Siyabhabha Trust is also a member of Caritas Internationalis - the confederation of 165 Caritas Organisations operating in over 200 countries throughout the world. The Caritas South Africa desk operates within Siyabhabha Trust. (Botswana and Swaziland are also members of Caritas and also have Caritas offices)

Creating an enabling environment for community-based responses to poverty eradication

Guiding principles
We are guided by the Catholic Church's Preferential Option for the Poor and the principle of Integral Human Development. Thus we recognise that every person's basic needs should be met holistically and we work directly towards the empowerment of the poor - the voiceless and socially excluded so that they become active participants in their communities. We are committed to providing people affected by poverty from every faith, origin and background, with the means to realise their full potential and become contributors to the common good.

click to enlarge